She’s got Beaver Fever

This summer, Ken and I packed up Baby Terry (who was just 3 months old) and piled into my brother’s truck and fifth-wheeler trailer for a weekend of camping at a beautiful campground on the Saugeen River. One of the park’s greatest attributes (aside for the free-range baby goat that kept visiting our campsite) is that campground patrons can rent (or BYO) inner tubes and take a leisurely float down nature’s lazy river.

I was in desperate need of a little relaxation, so my cousin and I hopped aboard our trusty inner tubes and set sail down the river while Ken took care of the baby. It was a gorgeous day and despite a few bumps and bruises from a few turbulent, less-than-lazy sections, we thoroughly enjoyed our voyage down the Saugeen.

By the end of the ride, it was nearing time for Baby Terry’s feeding. Before I fed him, I wanted to get changed out of my wet bathing suit and dry off a little. We made our way back to the trailer and by the time I arrived, the poor little guy was starving. I changed quickly and without thinking, I whipped out one of the “milk machines” and popped him on. He happily filled his belly while I continued to enjoy my post-float euphoria.

That was until I realized that I hadn’t washed off my boob before I put it in the baby’s mouth. I had dried off after my swim, but I hadn’t had a shower and soaped up. So, whatever bacteria or microbes or toxic waste was in the river was now on my body… my body that I had placed into my infant son’s mouth… my infant son with a developing immune system.

I suddenly remembered an illness that a friend had suffered a few summers ago after white water rafting in Ottawa. She was terribly ill with a gastrointestinal parasite known colloquially as “Beaver Fever”.  Yes, you can laugh at the name. I did, too. But Beaver Fever is a legitimate illness. According to the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (yes, a government-based and factually correct site, for my Google nay-sayers), “Beaver Fever”

“…is a common cause of waterborne disease in humans. Giardiasis is sometimes called “beaver fever” after an outbreak in which hikers at Banff National Park became ill from drinking stream water contaminated with Giardia from beavers.”

My rationale was simple: I put a dirty nipple in my baby’s mouth and he was now going to get a terrible gastrointestinal infection of some sort. Beaver Fever, ecoli, god-knows-what. What was I thinking? I sterilize his baby bottles, but I didn’t think I needed to wash myself??!!

Despite being in the middle of nowhere, I pulled out my iPhone and made good use of my data plan. I scoured the internet for information on river water diseases and their effects on babies. Surprisingly, this isn’t a common Google search! Who knew! So, I looked at Dr. Jack Newman’s website for answers from the breastfeeding guru himself. In his documentation, he said it was not necessary to wash one’s nipple before feeding; the natural anti-bacterial properties of breast milk make it unnecessary. Of course, he didn’t specify if breast milk was adequate for destroying Beaver Fever parasites, but I was hopeful his statement was all-inclusive.

So, I fretted and sent my mom a few panicked emails. I texted my cousin, an RPN with lots of baby experience. I think I even emailed my lactation consultant for guidance. Everyone assured me he would be fine. I decided I would just keep an eye on him for any signs of stomach issues and if anything cropped up, I’d get him in to see my family doctor ASAP.

I took a deep breath and had a delicious glass of wine by the campfire. All was well again in Mommyland.

… That was until the baby woke up hungry and it hadn’t been two hours since I guzzled my glass of wine. But, I’ll save the story of how I gave my baby neonatal alcohol syndrome another day. Good things come to those who wait!

Cheers!

Leave a comment